kidtroopa
Will not go past the database test installation step......
  • 2005/10/15 14:55

• kidtroopa

• Just popping in

• Since: 2005/10/15

Hi all,
I'm an XOOPS newbie so bare with me. I have successfully installed and made my initial configuration changes to my online hosted website. GREAT!!! But, for development purposes I want to load a local copy of XOOPS on my laptop. The following is submitted:

Web Server: Apache 2.0.54
PHP Ver:5.0.5
MySQL Ver: 4.1.14
PHPMyAdmin: 2.6.4-pl2

I followed the following WAMP instructions and everything worked according to the instructions: Installing Apache, PHP, MySQL

Okay..here is where I run into the problem. I browse to my development website on my machine...and the XOOPS installation begins as intended. I get all the way to the page that asks you to confirm the database information. I click next..and get nothing but a blank page. I've checked the database name..and the user account priveledges...and everything checks out. Am I missing something? Is there something I need to do in addition to simply creating the database, creating the user account that will connect to the database, and then granting that account full access? Any and all info would be greatly appreciated.

jdseymour
Re: Will not go past the database test installation step......

Try manually connecting to the database as the user you created. See if it will actually connect or not.

gediminasbyt

Haven't used Apache in Windows, but I'd assume there must be web site access_log and error_log find where these logs are and look to what they say. It usually is in /log directory, on windows it would be \log.

Gediminas

kidtroopa
  • 2005/10/15 15:42

• kidtroopa

• Just popping in

Thank you both for the quick reply.

1) Other than logging into PHPMyAdmin with the account that I created successfully...how else can I test connectivity to the database?

2) Yup, I checked the error logs and this was present: