1
Jakle
Adding flash banner/logo
  • 2005/1/8 19:48

  • Jakle

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 16

  • Since: 2004/10/25


I am moving our clan site from e107 to xoops. We have a nice flash banner/logo a clan mate made and would like to use it in the same capacity as our e107 site: (www.dsa-gamers.com/home/news.php).
I am using the same theme on XOOPS also (fiblack3d).

I saw the faq about inserting flash content, but the faq only explained how to insert it into a new block.

Info that might help =

With e107:
I just make an html page that points to the .swf file, link it in the admin panel and it's all set. I've only been playing with XOOPS for a little bit and I'm not sure what I need to do.

With Xoops:
I'm using the fiblack3d. I read that if you want to change the site banner/logo (still not sure of the difference), you have to replace logo.gif with the image you want, but the default banner/logo file used with fiblack3d is cellpic_bkg.jpg. There is a logo.gif, but it was just a small image/link at the bottom right hand corner of the banner/logo. I had to replace that with the blank.gif just to get rid of it.

Here's a link to the XOOPS site I'm working on (with the logo.gif replaced with the blank.gif, so only the cellpic_bkg.jpg is showing): www.dsa-gamers.com/main/index.php

If anyone can tell me what I need to do or point me in the right direction that would be great.

2
VSoniX
Re: Adding flash banner/logo
  • 2005/1/8 22:50

  • VSoniX

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 1

  • Since: 2005/1/7 1


nice flash...I'm doing my firsy steps in XOOPS as well. I wonder I did you change the banner of your site in the first pace? managing the pics in XOOPS is not trivial and intuitive for me. given your nice flash...how to import it to your site is the smae Q I'm dealing with.
Good luck with your site on Games

3
Anonymous
Re: Adding flash banner/logo
  • 2005/1/8 23:39

  • Anonymous

  • Posts: 0

  • Since:


Hmm ... did you try to open theme.html and replace the logo.gif with DSA.swf ?

4
Jakle
Re: Adding flash banner/logo
  • 2005/1/9 20:55

  • Jakle

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 16

  • Since: 2004/10/25


I tried that and it didn't work. Like I said above, "There is a logo.gif, but it was just a small image/link at the bottom right hand corner of the banner/logo. I had to replace that with the blank.gif just to get rid of it."
Now all I have showing in the logo is the image 'cellpic_bkg.jpg'. I renamed a .jpg logo I used to use into 'cellpic_bkg.jpg', and that's what you see when you go to my 'Xoops site in progress'. Here's the link again:

www.dsa-gamers.com/main/index.php

Here's an update to what I'm doing.

There is no reference to the image file 'cellpic_bkg.jpg' in the 'theme.html' file. I have looked through alot of XOOPS .php files but can't find any reference to it there also, but I'm probably looking in the wrong place. The only docs on code I can find is "Anatomy of the Default Theme", and it mentions this:

"<{$xoops_imageurl}> - This Smarty tag represents the path to your default theme directory, e.g.http://www.yoursite.com/theme/default/. This Smarty tag can be used anywhere in the theme.html or template files where the path to the theme directory is needed."

Does anyone know where/what file this variable is declared in? Can anyone point me towards some docs about the 'Xoops Core' code?

Hope this helps, and thanks for taking the time to help out.

5
Jakle
Re: Adding flash banner/logo
  • 2005/1/11 18:46

  • Jakle

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 16

  • Since: 2004/10/25


Still looking for help on this.

6
menochi
Re: Adding flash banner/logo
  • 2005/1/11 19:17

  • menochi

  • Friend of XOOPS

  • Posts: 259

  • Since: 2003/12/28


Hey to all and welcome to the xoops-forum


It`s just an idea from a site I´ve made some month ago:

fam-online.org

This site (it`s in spanish) has a flash in the header.
Take a look at the page_source to see how I made it.


7
Jakle
Re: Adding flash banner/logo
  • 2005/1/11 21:40

  • Jakle

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 16

  • Since: 2004/10/25


Thank you very much for that link, it helped out big time. There's some extra info/code in that source that the faq doesn't address.

I was browsing the forums and stumbled across the solution to what I was doing wrong. I didn't have "Update module template .html files from themes/your theme/templates directory?" checked under 'system admin/preferences/general settings', so I just kept seeing the old 'theme.html', not the one I just uploaded to the server. doh *smack* <-- me giving myself a dope slap >

Well, I hope my posts and the feedback here will help out another XOOPS newcomer. Thanks again, and happy web fun to everyone.

8
carnuke
Re: Adding flash banner/logo
  • 2005/1/12 0:09

  • carnuke

  • Home away from home

  • Posts: 1955

  • Since: 2003/11/5


Thanks menochi, would you like to update the FAQ to include your detailed information??

Thanks to all in this thread

9
menochi
Re: Adding flash banner/logo
  • 2005/1/12 2:36

  • menochi

  • Friend of XOOPS

  • Posts: 259

  • Since: 2003/12/28


Sure, I can do that. Next weekend

(23:53 pm. and still 29 C. in my home-office)

10
Jakle
Re: Adding flash banner/logo
  • 2005/1/13 18:05

  • Jakle

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 16

  • Since: 2004/10/25


I just wanted to throw this your way. This is the code I inserted into the 'theme.html':

<object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" id=index width=955 height=150 codebase="http://active.macromedia.com/flash2/cabs/swflash.cab#version=6,0,0,0"> <param name="movie" value="http://www.yoursite.com/path/logo.swf">
 <
param name="quality" value="high">
 <
param name="play" value="true">
 <
param name="loop" value="true">
 <
param name="bgcolor" value="#000000">
 <
SCRIPT LANGUAGE=JavaScript>
 <!--
 var 
ShockMode 0;
 if (
navigator.mimeTypes && navigator.mimeTypes["application/x-shockwave-flash"] && navigator.mimeTypes["application/x-shockwave-flash"].enabledPlugin) {
      if (
navigator.plugins && navigator.plugins["Shockwave Flash"])
        
ShockMode 1;
 } if (
ShockMode ) {
   
document.write('<embed src="http://www.yoursite.com/path/logo.swf"');
   
document.write(' width=955 height=150 bgcolor="#000000" quality="high" loop="true"');
   
document.write(' TYPE="application/x-shockwave-flash" PLUGINSPAGE="http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/">');
 
document.write('</EMBED>');
 } else if (!(
navigator.appName && navigator.appName.indexOf("Netscape")>=&& navigator.appVersion.indexOf("2.")>=0)) {   document.write('<IMG SRC="nonflash.gif" width=773 height=226>');
}
 
//-->
 
</SCRIPT><NOEMBED><IMG SRC="nonflash.gif" width=770 height=120 BORDER=0></NOEMBED><NOSCRIPT><IMG SRC="nonflash.gif" width=773 height=226 BORDER=0></NOSCRIPT></OBJECT>


This will check to see if your using an IE or Netscape based browser and use the appropriate codex, or if the user doesn't have flash installed it will open an image logo. All you have to do is change the two places that point to your .swf file and make an image logo. This just expands upon the xooops faq flash instructions.

Hope this helps.

Login

Who's Online

136 user(s) are online (83 user(s) are browsing Support Forums)


Members: 0


Guests: 136


more...

Donat-O-Meter

Stats
Goal: $100.00
Due Date: May 31
Gross Amount: $0.00
Net Balance: $0.00
Left to go: $100.00
Make donations with PayPal!

Latest GitHub Commits