Felon
Newbie questions...access, pm's, css
  • 2004/10/27 18:19

• Felon

• Just popping in

• Since: 2004/10/27

Hi,

What a great community! Thank you to everyone who contributes. I am really new to XOOPS but I'm having a ball.

Several of my users need to login twice to access anything other than the entry page. It actually tells them they do not have sufficient access. They are then taken to a login page as if they aren't even logged in at all. After they log in a second time they can get access their original menu choice, if they even think to try it again.

Another issue is that one of my user cannot reply to pm's.

Any suggestions would be welcome. Please keep in mind that although I'm familiar with html I am brand new to mySQL, css and php. My XOOPS installation is in a subdirectory called mayhem at www.xclansite.com though I do have a simple meta-refresh redirect.

Thanks in advance!

Chris

Herko
Re:Newbie questions...access, pm's, css
  • 2004/10/27 18:51

• Herko

• XOOPS is my life!

• Since: 2002/2/4 1

the simple meta-refresh redirect is the cause of the double login. Move your site to the site root (one level up), so the redirect is no longer needed, and change the values in your mainfile.php accordingly. Then login, and go to system admin, modules and 'update' the system module (this will reload the system module so all the menu's are updated to the new paths).

As for the second problem, check that your user doesn't have a software firewall running, and if he/she has, have your site added to the trusted sites list. Maybe that will help

Herko

Felon
  • 2004/10/27 22:32

• Felon

• Just popping in

Ahh..I had a sneaking suspicion that the redirect was the culprit, that's why I mentioned it. Move the files and folders and edit the mainfile.php, got it.

I went into the system admin, modules - just to get familiar with the next step but I don't see how to 'update' the system. Can you explain that step a little more?

Thanks!

Felon