ecsmith62
Can not access admin module. $xoopsuser null or false
  • 2004/9/16 7:44

• ecsmith62

• Just popping in

• Since: 2004/9/16

I have set up a number of my websites on my host server with xoops. Each site has a copy of the php files, and share a single database with different database table prefixes (as defined on installation).
I have been able to enter each of these sites and work in the administrator section at least once, and in most cases several times.
Today I started to experience problems where I could log into the sites with the administrator id, but when I pressed the Administrator Menu, I got the error "You don't have the right to access this area".
I traced this back to admin.php, and by creating a second variable of _AD_NORIGHT2, I was able to determine that it is because $xoopsuser was false. I have no php experience, so I am having trouble tracing back the source of the error.
I do have zonealarm installed, but I made sure that these sites have full permission for cookies and headers. And the problem seems to go away sometimes.
Any help is appreciated.

Evan Smith

kiwiguy
Re: Can not access admin module. $xoopsuser null or false
  • 2004/9/16 8:09

• kiwiguy

• Friend of XOOPS

• Since: 2004/4/19

Have you tried disabling your firewall while working on your sites I had this problem and my site was in my firewall as a protected site allowed list but still had troubles with admin section and forums until i disabled the firewall.

ecsmith62
  • 2004/9/21 21:02

• ecsmith62

• Just popping in

Hmm, disabling the firewall is not what I call a good solution!!! (you should see my firewall log) Any idea why the firewall would still cause a problem if the site is listed as an allowed (protected) site?

DonXoop

Search around here for firewall specific topics, lots here. You might also have to configure HTTP Headers in the firewall. It depends on the specific firewall you have.