rhynp
Customisation of Xoops Registration screen
  • 2004/8/2 18:45

• rhynp

• Just popping in

• Since: 2004/8/1 7

I am new to Xoops.

My PHP skills are not great.

I wish to add additional fields to the XOOPS Registration page in order better classify my members.

Is there an easy way of doing this? Does anyone know?

ackbarr
Re: Customisation of Xoops Registration screen

In XOOPS 2.0.x this is not a simple customization, as you'd have to modify the sql tables involved, then modify several XOOPS pages (the registration scripts, View Account, Edit Account, and System Module admin user modify pages). XOOPS 2.1 will include a feature that allows the admin to create / remove fields from the user profile, but that code hasn't been completed yet. Perhaps someone would be willing to modify the registration process to match your needs.

tusovka
  • 2004/8/3 1:43

• tusovka

• Just popping in

• Since: 2004/1/21

can you tell me which tables do i have to modify to add more fields. im also trying to change the userinfo page. i got all the web pages and the site_users sql table, but it still doesnt work. please help.

ackbarr

you also have to modify the XoopsUser class in /kernel/user.php. In particular the constructor function XoopsUser::XoopsUser() has lines like this:
$this->initVar('name'XOBJ_DTYPE_TXTBOXnullfalse60);

the initVar function is described in the Xoops API
Add lines for each of your added fields. While you are in /kernel/user.php also modify the SQL queries used in XoopsUserHandler::insert() so that user INSERT and UPDATE sql queries know about the fields you added.

dheltzel
  • 2004/8/3 16:18

• dheltzel

• Not too shy to talk

• Since: 2003/1/8 1

If your needs are not too extensive, you might be able to repurpose some exiting fields that you aren't using. For example, you could change the "ICQ" field to a memberid or member number. This only requires changing the language files (language/english directory - search for ICQ).