reifsnyderb
Document Management Module

Hello,

I am the developer of the DMS Module (https://xoops.org/modules/repository/singlefile.php?cid=21&lid=1135). I was wondering if there is any interest for this module to be updated, improved, etc.?

Regards,

Brian

Anonymous
Re: Document Management Module
  • 2012/2/9 19:40

• Anonymous

• Since:

+1 !!!

Mcron
  • 2012/2/9 21:22

• Mcron

• Just popping in

• Since: 2012/2/9 3

Very much so. I think it is a valuable addition to xoops.

Anonymous
  • 2012/2/9 21:52

• Anonymous

• Since:

At the moment there isn't a good and working document repository for Xoops. I have build two intranets using Xoops in the past, but never found a good solution for documents within xoops. And then I mean not just providing documents but a system with for example date provisioning, blocks for showing what's new in different categories, easy to handle administration by non technicians and so on...

I am not a coder, but if you intent to renew DMS I would love to help you with testing and feeding you with suggestions to make it a good repository for use in practice

reifsnyderb

Hello,

Adding blocks that show what is new, in different categories, would be pretty easy. Improving and/or simplifying administrative tasks is also a possibility. I also noticed that the released version is pretty old as the most recent version is 1.96.

I originally wrote the DMS module at work to replace Documentum, a package that my former employer reportedly paid around $500,000 for. It has done so and has performed very well. The last time I checked, it was handling over 250,000 documents and had over 1,000 registered users.