(1) 2 »
Mcron Mcron
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Joined: 2012/2/8 22:12
  • From California
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posts: 37
  • Posted on: 2012/2/22 23:44
Lost two development sites after hiding common utilities #1
In system/modules menu in common utilities, hiding
common utilities causes two development sites to go
down, can't get them back.

Immediately after hiding common utilities, the next click
goes to a white page.

I went to mysql, unhid, no help. Problem unresolved.

redheadedrod redheadedrod
  • Home away from home
  • Home away from home
  • Joined: 2008/2/26 11:05
  • From Grand Rapids, MI
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posts: 1296
  • Posted on: 2012/2/23 7:17
Re: Lost two development sites after hiding common utilities #2
RmCommons should never be hidden because it is the base for other modules. You also need to have a specific theme in place to be able to access stuff as well.

To properly do this you had to have changed your theme back to a non RmCommons theme after also disabling the modules dependent on it.

I am not sure if RmCommons was ever released as a stable version and was only a beta version. Hopefully RM will respond to you shortly.

what theme are you using in the admin, also what modules are you using for your site that depend on RMCommons?

Attending College working towards Bachelors in Software Engineering and Network Security.
noo-b noo-b
  • Just can't stay away
  • Just can't stay away
  • Joined: 2007/10/23 6:06
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posts: 456
  • Posted on: 2012/2/23 7:42
Re: Lost two development sites after hiding common utilities #3
i had this problm b4 what i did was edit my database

change the admin theme in phpmyadmin to default and delete all refrence to rmcommon in phpmyadmin

good luck

I Love Xoops
Peekay Peekay
  • XOOPS is my life!
  • XOOPS is my life!
  • Joined: 2004/11/20 5:55
  • From UK
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posts: 2325
  • Posted on: 2012/2/23 8:17
Re: Lost two development sites after hiding common utilities #4
Yes, I had the same problem trying to hide modules in RMCommon. Posted about it here on the news release.

If I recall correctly, whereas Xoops 2.5x now hides modules without requiring a confirmation, RMCU took me to the 'confirm' page and I think it was that that killed my site. It was the only issue I had, but quite a serious one!. You don't want RMCommons appearing in the main menu.

Like noo-b, I had to revert files and edit database entries manually to get rid of RMCU and recover the site.
A thread is for life. Not just for Christmas.
Mamba Mamba
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Joined: 2004/4/23 14:58
  • From Ohio, USA
  • Group: Webmaster Registered Users Designer Group Super Moderator
  • Posts: 10293
  • Posted on: 2012/2/23 9:42
Re: Lost two development sites after hiding common utilities #5
1) I am curious what do you mean by "hiding"? Deactivated?

2) Which version of RM Common Utilities did you use? Was it 2.1.43?
Please support XOOPS & DONATE
Use 2.5.8 | Debug | Requests | Bugs
Peekay Peekay
  • XOOPS is my life!
  • XOOPS is my life!
  • Joined: 2004/11/20 5:55
  • From UK
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posts: 2325
  • Posted on: 2012/2/23 10:28
Re: Lost two development sites after hiding common utilities #6
@Mamba

1) The second column tick button in Modules admin that lets you remove the module name from the main menu (tool-tip says 'Hide'). In older Xoops, you had to press 'Submit' after un-ticking a checkbox but now it is an (Ajax?) function and takes effect straight away.

2) No, the version I tried was 2.1.40, but I followed a link to it from another post. The later version had only been out a few weeks. Perhaps it is fixed. Depends which version Mcron used.
A thread is for life. Not just for Christmas.
Mamba Mamba
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Joined: 2004/4/23 14:58
  • From Ohio, USA
  • Group: Webmaster Registered Users Designer Group Super Moderator
  • Posts: 10293
  • Posted on: 2012/2/23 10:54
Re: Lost two development sites after hiding common utilities #7
The RM Common Utilities 2.1.43 should fix issues like you guys have described.

What Mcron should do (in case he used an older version), to copy 2.1.43 over his current version, and try again.
Please support XOOPS & DONATE
Use 2.5.8 | Debug | Requests | Bugs
Mcron Mcron
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Joined: 2012/2/8 22:12
  • From California
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posts: 37
  • Posted on: 2012/2/23 13:33
Re: Lost two development sites after hiding common utilities #8
Mamba,

What I did was hide from being seen in the main menu, I did
not deactivate. It is not something I would prefer to have
a user seeing in the menu.

For the record, I did it twice only to confirm the source of
the problem :) I thought it important enough to be able
to report as a problem... wanted to recreate before reporting.
They are development sites and I can recreate them with
a few days of work. Of course I would rather recover them.

I'm using rmcommons 2.1, using the red mexico theme for
admin and mozilli_iso on the site side.

I'll try killing the database entries that refer to it and
change the admin theme, installing the latest version...











Peekay Peekay
  • XOOPS is my life!
  • XOOPS is my life!
  • Joined: 2004/11/20 5:55
  • From UK
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posts: 2325
  • Posted on: 2012/2/23 14:15
Re: Lost two development sites after hiding common utilities #9
Quote:

Mcron wrote:

I'll try killing the database entries that refer to it and
change the admin theme...


Yes, that should get your site back.

If you install the latest version and the same thing happens again, please report back here and hopefully someone will notify the developer.
A thread is for life. Not just for Christmas.
Mcron Mcron
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Joined: 2012/2/8 22:12
  • From California
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posts: 37
  • Posted on: 2012/2/23 14:25
Re: Lost two development sites after hiding common utilities #10
Thanks everyone...
How to effectively post a question in the Xoops forums? - Read here...
Design by: XOOPS UI/UX Team