Re: News 1.67 RC 1 ready for testing
  • 2012/3/22 12:51

• Boogs

• Just popping in

• Since: 2012/2/17

Hi everyone :)

Xoops 2.5.4
News 1.6.7

I tried to edit the news_block_top.html to try and properly format the block for the "recent news" block.

I thought I was somewhat savvy enough to edit HTML but sadly I was wrong :(

I got blank pages and then lots of errors and then my site no longer worked...Had to delete the created templates and go back to default...mainly I am dissapointed for not being able to sort out a bit of HTML myself...I'm not a coder but do know my way around HTML - so I thought :P

This "Recent News" block sucks big time. The list bullet sits above the content and the font size is of a different format to anything else on the site.

i'm amazed this block has remained this badly formatted for so many years lol

Anyway, After hours of dissapointment I'm asking if anyone has any fix for this problem.

I mean seriously, this is the one module that should be flawless right??

Cheers,
Boogs.

redheadedrod

The formating is likely due to your theme and NOT xoops or news related directly.

Go through your theme and its css files and you will find the formatting items.

News css is used for A LOT of diffferent things as the default so it is specifically defined in most themes. Sounds like it isn't in the theme you are using.
Attending College working towards Bachelors in Software Engineering and Network Security.

Boogs
  • 2012/3/22 23:18

• Boogs

• Just popping in

• Since: 2012/2/17

Thanks Rod, I'm using the default theme (untouched) that comes with the core files.

So I am clear, your saying the formatting is in the css file within the news module, not the default theme's css?

Thanks in advance :)

Cheers,
Boogs.

redheadedrod

That formatting is all in the theme files... NOT in the module files.