xoops forums

Mcron

Just popping in
Posted on: 2012/2/22 23:44
Mcron
Mcron (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 37
Since: 2012/2/8 2
#1

Lost two development sites after hiding common utilities

In system/modules menu in common utilities, hiding
common utilities causes two development sites to go
down, can't get them back.

Immediately after hiding common utilities, the next click
goes to a white page.

I went to mysql, unhid, no help. Problem unresolved.

redheadedrod

Home away from home
Posted on: 2012/2/23 7:17
redheadedrod
redheadedrod (Show more)
Home away from home
Posts: 1296
Since: 2008/2/26
#2

Re: Lost two development sites after hiding common utilities

RmCommons should never be hidden because it is the base for other modules. You also need to have a specific theme in place to be able to access stuff as well.

To properly do this you had to have changed your theme back to a non RmCommons theme after also disabling the modules dependent on it.

I am not sure if RmCommons was ever released as a stable version and was only a beta version. Hopefully RM will respond to you shortly.

what theme are you using in the admin, also what modules are you using for your site that depend on RMCommons?

Attending College working towards Bachelors in Software Engineering and Network Security.

noo-b

Just can't stay away
Posted on: 2012/2/23 7:42
noo-b
noo-b (Show more)
Just can't stay away
Posts: 456
Since: 2007/10/23
#3

Re: Lost two development sites after hiding common utilities

i had this problm b4 what i did was edit my database

change the admin theme in phpmyadmin to default and delete all refrence to rmcommon in phpmyadmin

good luck

I Love Xoops

Peekay

XOOPS is my life!
Posted on: 2012/2/23 8:17
Peekay
Peekay (Show more)
XOOPS is my life!
Posts: 2335
Since: 2004/11/20
#4

Re: Lost two development sites after hiding common utilities

Yes, I had the same problem trying to hide modules in RMCommon. Posted about it here on the news release.

If I recall correctly, whereas Xoops 2.5x now hides modules without requiring a confirmation, RMCU took me to the 'confirm' page and I think it was that that killed my site. It was the only issue I had, but quite a serious one!. You don't want RMCommons appearing in the main menu.

Like noo-b, I had to revert files and edit database entries manually to get rid of RMCU and recover the site.
A thread is for life. Not just for Christmas.

Mamba

Moderator
Posted on: 2012/2/23 9:42
Mamba
Mamba (Show more)
Moderator
Posts: 10333
Since: 2004/4/23
#5

Re: Lost two development sites after hiding common utilities

1) I am curious what do you mean by "hiding"? Deactivated?

2) Which version of RM Common Utilities did you use? Was it 2.1.43?
Please support XOOPS & DONATE
Use 2.5.8 | Debug | Requests | Bugs

Peekay

XOOPS is my life!
Posted on: 2012/2/23 10:28
Peekay
Peekay (Show more)
XOOPS is my life!
Posts: 2335
Since: 2004/11/20
#6

Re: Lost two development sites after hiding common utilities

@Mamba

1) The second column tick button in Modules admin that lets you remove the module name from the main menu (tool-tip says 'Hide'). In older Xoops, you had to press 'Submit' after un-ticking a checkbox but now it is an (Ajax?) function and takes effect straight away.

2) No, the version I tried was 2.1.40, but I followed a link to it from another post. The later version had only been out a few weeks. Perhaps it is fixed. Depends which version Mcron used.
A thread is for life. Not just for Christmas.

Mamba

Moderator
Posted on: 2012/2/23 10:54
Mamba
Mamba (Show more)
Moderator
Posts: 10333
Since: 2004/4/23
#7

Re: Lost two development sites after hiding common utilities

The RM Common Utilities 2.1.43 should fix issues like you guys have described.

What Mcron should do (in case he used an older version), to copy 2.1.43 over his current version, and try again.
Please support XOOPS & DONATE
Use 2.5.8 | Debug | Requests | Bugs

Mcron

Just popping in
Posted on: 2012/2/23 13:33
Mcron
Mcron (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 37
Since: 2012/2/8 2
#8

Re: Lost two development sites after hiding common utilities

Mamba,

What I did was hide from being seen in the main menu, I did
not deactivate. It is not something I would prefer to have
a user seeing in the menu.

For the record, I did it twice only to confirm the source of
the problem :) I thought it important enough to be able
to report as a problem... wanted to recreate before reporting.
They are development sites and I can recreate them with
a few days of work. Of course I would rather recover them.

I'm using rmcommons 2.1, using the red mexico theme for
admin and mozilli_iso on the site side.

I'll try killing the database entries that refer to it and
change the admin theme, installing the latest version...











Peekay

XOOPS is my life!
Posted on: 2012/2/23 14:15
Peekay
Peekay (Show more)
XOOPS is my life!
Posts: 2335
Since: 2004/11/20
#9

Re: Lost two development sites after hiding common utilities

Quote:

Mcron wrote:

I'll try killing the database entries that refer to it and
change the admin theme...


Yes, that should get your site back.

If you install the latest version and the same thing happens again, please report back here and hopefully someone will notify the developer.
A thread is for life. Not just for Christmas.

Mcron

Just popping in
Posted on: 2012/2/23 14:25
Mcron
Mcron (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 37
Since: 2012/2/8 2
#10

Re: Lost two development sites after hiding common utilities

Thanks everyone...