ianez
Theming and templating in Xoops: my two cents
  • 2010/11/10 11:50

• ianez

• Not too shy to talk

• Since: 2006/1/26

Hi there Xoops users and developers,
in the last weeks I have spent some time in testing on the next to come Xoops version (2.5) and I was really delighted by the large improvements/add on in the admin side.
Talking about theming and templating as much as I was delighted by admin side I was equally frustrated by the user side, which is the same (more or less) which I ran into six years ago when I started playing with Xoops..
Something has been done surely.. but I feel to say clearly guys that Xoops is still a large step back from other cms and probably from real world theming...
From Xoops 2.5 I was expecting a change in this situation or at least a change in the general approach, for example a new more stylish css default theme (able to attract new user) or more clean templates..
This did not happen and by some point of view things seems to get even worse...
The problems I point out are mainly:
1) default theme/ system templates are still table based and sometimes kind of buggy or don't output a good/accessible layout
2) css is approached and structured in a unnecessary complex way

First point it's something we see from many years in Xoops.. you start with the default theme with a border with no padding around text (awful), you have unneeded tables in profile visualization and still you can't have an ordered/readable list of user activity in profile.. and much much else... everyone knows that if you want to do a good/stylish site with xoops you need to put some efforts in giving system templates a smarter look..

Second problem it’s just a matter of choosing what css should be used for..
The xoops.css style sheet in 2.5rc2 it’s 16kb large file (almost a jscript framework!) attached to every page and setting up a myriad of classes that should be used as standard in theming and templating..